The history of the Macleay Valley is as fascinating as it is diverse and one of the best ways to appreciate it is to visit the Macleay River Historical Society’s award winning Museum in South Kempsey. The Museum, housed in the unique Glenn Murcutt Building adjacent to the Visitor Information Centre, traces the valley’s history from the time of the Aborigines to today.
The Museum has Disabled Access and Bus Groups are most welcome.
The museum has three categories
a) Collections and displays of historic artefacts. These have been selected on the basis of their interest and relevance to the Macleay district.
b) The Research Department. There is an extensive collection of local history and family files in our library and record room. This service is available for anyone wishing to research local families, locations and topics.
c) The Photographic Section. Our collection includes more than 40,000 images and photographs, most of which are fully catalogued and cross-referenced. History on the Macleay is covered here from 1830 to the present. This world-class asset is made up not only from local donations but also from several major collections of professional quality. High quality prints may be obtained at a very reasonable price.
Val Melville Centre
South Kempsey Park, 62 - 118 Lachlan Street
Call: 02 6562 7572